Grünewald District: a veritable urban microcosm

The district has undergone a huge expansion in recent years. Complementing the banking sector on “the other side” of Avenue Kennedy, in the Kiem District, it houses tertiary service buildings between Avenue J. F. Kennedy and Rue Ch. Bernhoeft. These buildings were constructed in “city blocks” delineated by streets in a grid pattern. They form a dense urban fabric and each houses several companies - in contrast to the mono-function buildings situated in the “old banking sector” of Kiem. The ground floor levels are partially occupied by commercial outlets, in line with the Fund’s wish to favour mixed-use structures. In this part of the district, the two plots of land remain unoccupied and are intended for hotel and local shop activities.

Construction of the residential area of the Grünewald between Rue Ch. Bernhoeft and Rue des Labours, planned for 1 800 residents, has been completed. It consists of 5 of the overall 20 residential buildings constructed and managed by the SNHBM. The residential buildings are placed like pieces on a chess board with alternating squares for public areas including children’s play areas, private gardens at the foot of each building and communal gardens at two of the buildings. Each communal garden is intersected by a pedestrian path. The residential buildings of the district are all the results of architectural competitions organised by the Fund, which emphasises selecting the best possible approach both in terms of architecture and functionality.  

The Grünewald District also groups together several health related facilities: the Kirchberg Hospital and the Bohler Maternity Clinic (Groupe Hospitalier Schuman), the Elysis care home for the elderly and the Rehazenter - centre for physical therapies. These health service buildings overlook the Parc Klosegrënnchen, one of the Kirchberg’s three public parks which cover a total of 65 hectares. Parc Klosegrënnchen is the most natural with terraces of fruit trees and its wealth of wild plants, including rare orchid species. The upper part is particularly notably with its arid zones - a rarity in Luxembourg. There are three ponds which serve as retention ponds for the rain water runoff from the sealed surfaces of the Serra roundabout.

12 May 2016

Districts for people

Actualité

By request of the Kirchberg Fund, Gehl Architects, global leader in people centered urban design, are analyzing the public space of the European and Grünewald districts.

29 April 2016

Petanque goes Grünewald

Actualité

The Kirchberg Fund is building two petanque courts on the Quartier Stuff square between the Edward Steichen and Charles Bernhoeft Streets. Furthermore 2 open air barbecue grills are installed to make out of this square a vibrant meeting point between neighbours, actifs and visitors. 

6 April 2016

Rare orchid discovered in the Klosegrënnchen park

Actualité

A new stand of the lizard orchid (Himantoglossum hircinum) was recently discovered in the grassy dunes of the Klosegrënnchen park of the Kirchberg Arboretum.

4 April 2016

The Kirchberg Fund and the SNHBM will participate in the government’s effort

Actualité

Le quartier du Grünewald : un véritable microcosme urbain 

Le quartier a connu ces dernières années une forte expansion. Complément du quartier des banques de "l'autre côté" de l'avenue Kennedy, dans le quartier du Kiem, il accueille des immeubles tertiaires entre l’avenue J. F. Kennedy et la rue Ch. Bernhoeft. Ces immeubles sont construits en "îlots", bordés de rues orthogonales. Ils constituent un tissu urbain dense et accueillent plusieurs sociétés (contrairement aux immeubles monofonctionnels situé dans le "vieux quartier des banques", le Kiem). Leurs rez-de-chaussée sont en partie occupés par des commerces en phase avec la volonté du Fonds de favoriser une mixité des fonctions. Dans cette partie du quartier, deux terrains restent inoccupés qui devraient être destinés à une activité hôtelière et de commerces de proximité.

La construction du quartier d’habitation du Grünewald entre la rue Ch. Bernhoeft et la rue des Labours, prévu pour quelque 1 800 habitants, est achevée. Il comprend 5 immeubles sur les 20 résidences en tout, construits et gérés par la SNHBM. Les immeubles d'habitation sont disposés tels les figures sur un échiquier faisant alterner placettes publiques avec des espaces de jeux pour enfants, jardins privatifs au pied des immeubles et jardins communs à deux immeubles. Chaque jardin commun est traversé par des chemins piétonniers. Les immeubles d'habitation du quartier sont tous issus de concours d'architecture organisés par le Fonds, qui cherche à favoriser la meilleure approche architecturale et fonctionnelle possible.

Le Quartier du Grünewald regroupe également plusieurs infrastructures du secteur de santé : l’hôpital Kirchberg et la maternité Clinique Dr Bohler (Groupe hospitalier Schuman), la maison de soins gériatrique Elysis  et le Centre National de Rééducation Fonctionnelle, dit Rehazenter. Ces services de santé donnent sur le Parc Klosegrënnchen, lequel est un des parcs publics du Kirchberg (les 3 parcs du Kirchberg font 65 ha en tout). C'est le plus naturel avec ses arbres fruitiers disposés en terrasses, ses collections de plantes sauvages (dont des orchidées rares). Sa partie supérieure se distingue par une végétation spécifique aux zones sèches (un exemple rare au Luxembourg). Il comprend 3 étangs qui sont  les bassins de rétention des eaux de pluie des surfaces scellées du rond-point Serra.

 

 

 

12 mai 2016

Des quartiers à échelle humaine

Actualité

Sur demande du Fonds Kirchberg, le bureau de Gehl Architects, mondialement connu pour son approche "create cities for people" est en train d'analyser l'espace public dans les quartiers européen et Grünewald. 

29 avril 2016

La pétanque : en route pour le quartier Grünewald

Actualité

Le Fonds Kirchberg aménage pour les usagers du quartier Grünewald deux pistes de pétanques et deux barbecues sur la place de la Quartier Stuff entre les rues Edward Steichen et Charles Bernhoeft. 

6 avril 2016

Orchidée rare trouvée dans le parc Klosegrënnchen

Actualité

Une nouvelle station de l’orchis bouc (Himantoglossum hircinum) a été découverte récemment dans les pelouses sablonneuses du parc Klosegrënnchen de l’Arboretum du Kirchberg. 

Pour en savoir plus cliquez sur
https://www.mnhn.lu/blog/2015/06/decouverte-dune-nouvelle-station-de-lorchis-bouc-au-parc-klosegrennchen/

4 avril 2016

Le Fonds du Kirchberg et la SNHBM participeront à l'effort du Gouvernement

Actualité

Le dossier peut être téléchargé ci-dessous.

Voir