The European District: Institutions and Culture

The European District is divided into two sections. Firstly, the European North District which houses the majority of the European Institutions in Luxembourg. Since the 1990s, and especially since the enlargement of the European Union to 28 member states (2004, 2007, 2013) the Institutions have undertaken successive extensions, notably the European Court of Justice. The Court is presently constructing its 5th extension which will provide a third tower and a further building facing onto Boulevard Adenauer, as detailed in the new urban plan of the district. The present European Commission building (Jean Monet), built in 1970, will be demolished. The new building will be constructed on a site adjacent to the first site. The single site of the European Parliament (KAD 2) is under construction and will group together all the services of the Secretariat of the European Parliament. The parent building will be maintained and integrated into the new structure. The second extension to the European Court of Auditors is being built to the street front, as was the first extension, in keeping with “the preference of the Fund for the construction of buildings to street front”; the parent building at the centre of the block is thus absorbed into a standard city block. 

The road infrastructure between the Porte de l’Europe and the Red Bridge has been widened and is ready for the inauguration of the tramway in 2017. Two crossroads now provide access to the centre of the district and to the Institutions. The water retention basin is under construction. The works for the tramway also include the construction of the “Pfaffenthal-Kirchberg” station and an access for funicular railway passengers (CFL works). The Red Bridge is also undergoing widening for the passage of the tramway. 

The European South District contains a mixture of national cultural buildings and European Institutions. The Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean (Mudam) and the Musée de la Forteresse are both housed within the Parc des Trois Glands. Place de l’Europe is dominated by the “Héichhaus”. Since 2011, the Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure (MDDI) has occupied the tower. The base now constitutes the European Convention Centre Luxembourg where the European Council of Ministers holds its Luxembourg meetings, and where congresses and other important events are held. The design of Place de l’Europe is centred around one structure - the Philharmonie de Luxembourg. The Porte de l’Europe towers form the entrance to the Kirchberg, from the direction of the city centre. A residential area will be built on the south side of Avenue Kennedy.

12 May 2016

Districts for people

Actualité

By request of the Kirchberg Fund, Gehl Architects, global leader in people centered urban design, are analyzing the public space of the European and Grünewald districts.

28 April 2016

Development of the Porte de l'Europe

Actualité

A new face for the western entrance to Kirchberg Porte de l'Europe

For further details http://www.fondskirchberg.lu/upload/Dossier%20de%20presse%20PE_WEB.20141204101225.pdf 

28 April 2016

Large group of urban mixed-use buildings constructed at the point of entry to the Kirchberg Plateau

Actualité

A large group of urban mixed-use buildings will be constructed at the point of entry to the Kirchberg Plateau, when approaching from the Red Bridge.

The Allfin, Cushman & Wakefield Consortium, with M3 Architects and the American architects Arquitectonica (who designed the Banque de Luxembourg on Bld Royal) are to build this large urban unit situated between the Court of Justice of the European Union and the Philharmonie on Avenue Kennedy.

It will comprise a 21-storey residential tower, 6 800 m2 of office space and 6 500 m2 of retail space.

les habitants du quartier créer un compte

Le quartier Européen : les Institutions et la culture 

Le quartier Européen est divisé en deux parties. Tout d’abord, le quartier Européen Nord, abritant la majorité des Institutions européennes à Luxembourg. Depuis les années 1990 et surtout depuis l'élargissement de l'Union européenne à 28 (2004, 2007, 2013) celles-ci connaissent des extensions successives, à l'image de la Cour de Justice de l'Union Européenne. La Cour connait actuellement une 5e extension et comprendra ainsi une 3e tour et un bâtiment construit en front du boulevard Konrad Adenauer, comme le prévoit le nouveau plan d'urbanisme du quartier. Le bâtiment actuel de la Commission européenne construit dans les années 1970 (Jean Monnet 1), sera rasé. Le nouveau bâtiment sera construit sur un site adjacent au premier. Le site unique du Parlement Européen (KAD 2), regroupera tous les services du Secrétariat du Parlement Européen. Le chantier est en cours.  Le bâtiment-mère sera conservé et intégré au nouvel ensemble. La 2e extension de la Cour des Comptes européenne est construite en front de rue, tout comme la première extension, suivant la "préférence du Fonds pour la réalisation de bâtiments en front de rue" ; le bâtiment-mère en cœur d'îlot est ainsi englobé dans un îlot urbain régulier.
 

La voirie entre la Porte de l'Europe et le Pont Rouge a été élargie et est prête à recevoir le tramway en 2017. Deux carrefours permettent désormais d'accéder à l'intérieur du quartier et aux Institutions. Le bassin de rétention est en cours de réalisation. Les travaux pour le tramway comprennent également la construction de la gare "Pfaffenthal- Kirchberg " et une montée pour les usagers par funiculaire (travaux CFL). Le Pont Rouge est également en cours d’élargissement pour le passage du tramway.

Dans le quartier Européen Sud, on trouve un mélange d'Institutions culturelles nationales et d'Institutions européennes. C'est dans le Parc des Trois Glands que se trouvent le Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean (Mudam) et le Musée de la Forteresse. La Place de l'Europe est dominée par le "Héichhaus". La tour est occupée depuis 2011 par le Ministère des Infrastructures et du Développement durable (MDDI). Son socle est désormais constitué par le European Convention Centre Luxembourg où se tiennent les Conseils des ministres européens à Luxembourg, des congrès et autres événements importants. Le dessin de la Place de l'Europe est organisé autour d'un bâtiment central : la Philharmonie de Luxembourg. Les tours de la Porte de l'Europe constituent l'entrée au Kirchberg en venant du centre ville. Le front Sud de l'avenue Kennedy accueillera un quartier d'habitation.

12 mai 2016

Des quartiers à échelle humaine

Actualité

Sur demande du Fonds Kirchberg, le bureau de Gehl Architects, mondialement connu pour son approche "create cities for people" est en train d'analyser l'espace public dans les quartiers européen et Grünewald. 

28 avril 2016

Aménagement de la Porte de l'Europe

Actualité

Le passage du tram et le flux de circulation donnent un nouveau visage à la Porte de l'Europe, l'entrée Ouest au Kirchberg.

Plus d'informations 

http://www.fondskirchberg.lu/upload/Dossier%20de%20presse%20PE_WEB.20141204101225.pdf

28 avril 2016

Un nouveau ensemble urbain mixte

Actualité

Un important ensemble urbain mixte sera construit à l'entrée du Plateau de Kirchberg venant du Pont Rouge

C'est  le Groupement Allfin, Cushman & Wakefield avec les architectes américains Arquitectonica (auteurs à Luxembourg de la Banque de Luxembourg, bd Royal) et M3 Architectes pour cet important élément urbain sur l'avenue Kennedy, entre la Cour de Justice de l'Union Européenne et la Philharmonie. 
Il comportera une tour de logements de 21 étages, un ensemble de bureaux de 6 800 m2 et 6 500 m2 de commerces. 

http://www.fondskirchberg.lu/upload/Dossier%20de%20presse%20PE_lo.20151001101056.pdf

les habitants du quartier créer un compte